How To Balance Your Chakras: The Easiest Way For Beginners -->

How To Balance Your Chakras: The Easiest Way For Beginners


According to yoga philosophy, a chakra is any of the spiritual points in the human body. By activating your chakras you allow the flow of cosmic energy into your human body. 

Chakras are located in 7 centres in the body and they are non-physical, to activate them requires conscious effort. Each chakra has its own name associated with them which you shall discover as you read on. 

Yogis believe that to lead a well-balanced life of spiritual and emotional wellbeing, your chakras have to align and be open; while a person who has a blocked chakra will be prone to emotional, spiritual, and physical imbalance which in the long or short run can resulting to illnesses and poor life circumstances.



1. Root Chakra: This is the first chakra also known as Muladhara, it starts at the base of the spine and is associated with the color red. The Root Chakra enables you to stay grounded, stable, and secure and enables you to be able to accept change without fear. 

The mantra associated with this chakra is Lam, With the flow of energy in this chakra, you can rest assured to meet your core needs without struggle, while the absence of energy in the root chakra causes you to worry and fear.


2. Sacral Chakra: This chakra, also known as Svadhi Shana has its location around the pelvic area in between the hips. It is associated with the color orange.

The Sacral Chakra is responsible for biological reproduction & creativity. When energy is flowing through your sacral chakra your creative genius will be superb. So, when you are feeling emotionally stagnant or you can't seem to get creative on a project or idea, it is very possible that your sacral chakra which enables creativity is blocked. The mantra to unblock this chakra is Vam. 


3. Solar Plexus Chakra: This chakra, also known as Manipura, is the basis for the intention you set for your desires. The activation of this chakra enables one to manifest their intentions and desires in life. This is a very powerful chakra that if blocked will make one feel frustrated and handicapped. 

The solar plexus chakra is located around the abdomen and its associated color is yellow. The mantra to activate it is Ram. A proper flow of energy in this chakra gives the power to exercise one's will and gain the courage to pursue one's dreams.


4. Heart Chakra: The heart chakra, just as its name implies, is located in the heart region - it is also known as Anahata in Sanskrit. 

The heart chakra's purpose is to give and receive love. When this chakra is closed you realize that you are unable to love resulting in a bad relationship with yourself and other people. 

It is associated with the color green and the mantra for awakening the heart chakra is Yum. By opening this chakra, you are able to connect at a deep level with a higher power and with everyone you encounter.


5. Throat chakra: The throat chakra is the 5th chakra which is located around the throat area. This chakra is associated with the color blue and is known in Sanskrit as Vishuddhi. The throat chakra activates the speech ability in you. It enables you to voice out and speak without fear of judgment. 

Blockages in this energy center make a person quiet and shy to speak when he/she ought to communicate their needs because he/she will worry about what people will say as a result of fear and anxiety in them. 

The mantra to awaken this chakra is Hum


6. Third eye chakra: The third eye chakra is the 6th chakra also known as Ajna. It is located in the centre of the forehead. What we know as intuition arises from the third eye, also called the sixth sense. 

The third eye chakra awakens one to the world beyond the physical and normal 5 senses of touch. It is associated with the color Indigo. When this energy centre is blocked it makes you lose your sense of vision and direction but when heightened and turned on, you gain extra-sensory perception, clairaudience, and clairvoyance when it is open. 

The mantra to open this chakra is Sham.


7. Crown chakra: Located above the head, this chakra is also known as Sahasrara and is responsible for making a person whole in the sense of wholeness, wisdom, and connection to the universe. The crown chakra gives one the gift of wisdom that makes you conscious of the world around you. 

The mantra to awaken the crown chakra is Aum and associated with the color violet. 


If you don't unblock your chakras your daily life activities will feel strenuous and get clogged. But by awakening the chakras you enter a whole new level of ease, things that seem hard get done effortlessly. 

There are different methods to awaken one's chakras but, in this article, we will be unblocking our seven chakras through meditation 

Follow these step-by-step procedures: 

How To Balance Your Chakras

  • Find a quiet place to sit down. 
  • Close your eyes and take deep breaths
  • Place your hands on your knees and let your thumb connect with your index finger
  • Silently, state your intention for the meditation - to balance all of your chakras.
  • Repeat each mantra associated with the chakras nine times before repeating the next chakra's mantra. (You can make use of counting beads, not to lose count)
  • Make sure to focus on your breathing while chanting the mantras and let your breathing flow naturally.
  • End your meditation by taking deep breaths and opening your eyes.

Practice this meditation every day for 10 - 15minutes after you wake or before you go to bed - whichever suits you - and feel the positive effects it brings on your day-to-day activities.

Read Also: How To Train Yourself To Wake Up Early (4 Powerful Tips)

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form